Key Dates and Schedule Information Los Angeles Angels Fans Need to Know for the 2020 MLB Season

Los Angeles Angels schedule and key dates fans need to know for the 2020 MLB season.
Los Angeles Angels schedule and key dates fans need to know for the 2020 MLB season. / Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

Baseball is back! The MLB and the MLBPA agreed on a deal on Tuesday that will bring a shortened regular season kicking off in July.

Due to the unusual circumstances, this season won't be like what we're used to seeing. Both the owners and players made some concessions to reach a deal, and that means the 2020 season has received some big changes.

So with that in mind, let's take a look at some key dates and information Los Angeles Angels fans need to know about the new season, as well as the team's expected regular-season schedule.

When Does the 2020 MLB Season Start?

Players will report to training camp on July 1 and Opening Day is expected to be on either July 23 or 24.

When is the MLB Trade Deadline?

The new 2020 MLB trade deadline will be on August 31.

When Will the MLB Playoffs Start?

No official playoff start date has been announced, but the regular season is expected to end by September 27 so that the playoffs can begin in October.

Other Key Dates for the 2020 MLB Season

June 26: Transaction Freeze ends - Teams have been in a holding pattern in terms of making significant transactions during the labor dispute, so on this date, teams will once again be allowed to sign players, make trades and offer contract extensions.

September 15: Playoff Eligibility Deadline – The date a player must be on an official roster in order to be eligible for the playoff roster.

Los Angeles Angels Schedule 2020

The specific dates for games aren't available yet, but each team will play 40 games against their own division, and the additional 20 games will be played against the opposing league's counterpart division most closely related geographically. So the Angels will play 40 games against AL West opponents and 20 against the NL West. The expected breakdown of matchups is below.

Seattle Mariners — 10 Games
Houston Astros — 10 Games
Texas Rangers — 10 Games
Oakland Athletics — 10 Games

San Diego Padres — 4 Games
San Francisco Giants — 4 Games
Colorado Rockies — 4 Games
Arizona Diamondbacks — 4 Games
Los Angeles Dodgers — 4 Games

MLB Playoff Format

While there was talk of expanded playoffs, the MLB Playoff format will remain the same for the 2020 season.

Sign up for FanDuel Sportsbook today and get your first bet risk free for up to $500!

Jason Schandl is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Jason Schandl also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username Jaymun. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in his articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.