F1 Start Time, Qualifying & Where to Watch the 2022 Austrian Grand Prix

Larry Rupp
When, where and what time is the next Formula 1 race? Everything you need to know about watching the 2022 Austrian Grand Prix.
When, where and what time is the next Formula 1 race? Everything you need to know about watching the 2022 Austrian Grand Prix. / John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports
facebooktwitterreddit

Formula-1 fans have been clamoring for more action on the calendar after the British Grand Prix came to an end this past weekend. The good news is that F1 enthusiasts won't have to wait too long because the Austrian Grand Prix takes place this week.

When is the Next F1 Race?

The next F1 race will take place on Sunday, July 10. The Austrian Grand Prix is scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. local time, which is equivalent to 9 a.m. ET or 6 a.m. PT on Sunday.

It's a quick 7-day turnaround between the British GP and Austrian GP considering drivers usually have two weeks to prepare in between races.

What Time is F1 Qualifying?

F1 qualifying for the Austrian Grand Prix will take place at 4 p.m. local time on Friday, July 8. This translates to 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT. It will determine the starting order for the Sprint Race.

The Sprint Race will take place at 3:30 p.m. local time on Saturday, July 9. This translates to 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT. It will determine the starting order for the Austrian Grand Prix. The schedule is as follows:

  • Practice 1: Friday, July 8, 7:30 a.m. ET
  • Qualifying: Friday, July 8, 11:00 a.m. ET
  • Practice 2: Saturday, July 9, 6:30 a.m. ET
  • Sprint: Saturday, July 9, 10:30 a.m. ET

Where to Watch F1

In the United States, Formula 1 race TV rights are owned by ESPN, which means it is typically broadcast live on ESPN/ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes.

There are a few additional options for streaming F1 live online. The top option for serious racing fans is F1TV, which is available through Formula1.com. Other options are streaming services which include ESPN access, such as SlingTV, Hulu + Live TV and FuboTV.

dark. SIGN UP NOW. Up to $1,000 in Free Bets if you don't win your first bet!

Larry Rupp is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Larry Rupp also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username phillyfan424. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel. 

facebooktwitterreddit