St. Andrews Location, Weather & History for the 2022 Open Championship

David Kaestle
St. Andrews location and weather for the 2022 Open Championship.
St. Andrews location and weather for the 2022 Open Championship. / Michael Madrid-USA TODAY Sports

The golf world is turning its attention this week to its final major of the year, its oldest major, being played at the world's most famous and prestigious course – St. Andrews Old Course. This year will also mark the 150th edition of the Open Championship.

St. Andrews Location

The 2022 Open Championship will be played at St. Andrews Old Course in St. Andrews Scotland.

St. Andrews Weather

The weather forecast for the 150th Open Championship at St. Andrews will be a mixed bag. Thursday will be a bit on the chilly side with temps in the high 60s but sunny. Friday and Sunday bring on some chance of precipitation with temperatures in the low 70s and Saturday will keep that same low 70s temp, but avoid the rain.

All four days are expected to have some version of the famous St. Andrews wind, although on the mild side, predicted to be in the 10-15 mph range throughout the tournament.

St. Andrews History

Considered the birthplace of golf, the Old Course is now one of seven courses that make up the St. Andrews links, also being the most famous and the one that people are referring to when they simply say St. Andrews.

The grounds were first used for golf as early as the 1400's but took a hiatus after King James II of Scotland banned the sport. It was reinstated in 1502 and people began playing the course again in 1552. Originally played as a 22-hole course (10 of which were played twice in a round), the standard 18-hole round of golf was born when four of the shorter holes were combined into two.

St. Andrews Old Course first held the Open Championship in 1873 and 2022 marks the 30th time the famed links course will host the event.

Below is a look at the last ten winners of Open Championship, regardless of course, along with the last five winners of the event held at St. Andrews.

1. 2021 - Colin Morikawa (Royal St. George's)

2. 2019 - Shane Lowry (Royal Portrush)

3. 2018 - Francisco Molinari (Carnoustie)

4. 2017 - Jordan Spieth (Royal Birkdale)

5. 2016 - Henrick Stenson (Royal Troon)

6. 2015 - Zach Johnson (St. Andrews)

7. 2014 - Rory McIlroy (Royal Liverpool)

8. 2013 - Phil Mickelson (Muirfield)

9. 2012 - Ernie Els (Royal Lytham & St. Annes)

10. 2011 - Darren Clarke (Royal St. George's)

Past five St. Andrews' winners

1. 2015 - Zach Johnson
2. 2010 - Louis Oosthuizen
3. 2005 - Tiger Woods
4. 2000 - Tiger Woods
5. 1995 - John Daly

SIGN UP NOW. Up to $1,000 in Free Bets if you don't win your first bet!. dark

David Kaestle is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, David also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username davekaestle. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.