Nick Saban Has Now Outlasted Insane Number of SEC Head Coaches After Joe Moorhead Fired From Mississippi State

Colton Dodgson
Nick Saban took over as Alabama's head football coach in 2007.
Nick Saban took over as Alabama's head football coach in 2007. / Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

Another one bites the dust in the SEC.

Mississippi State parted ways with head coach Joe Moorhead on Friday morning, adding him to the extensive list of SEC coaches that Alabama's Nick Saban has seen come and go during his tenure with the Crimson Tide.

Since Saban was hired in 2007, the amount of turnover at head coaching positions among SEC programs beyond Tuscaloosa has now grown to a staggering 44 as the Crimson Tide prepare for their 14th season under Saban.

In his two years in Starkville, Moorhead led the Bulldogs to an 8-5 record in 2018 and a 6-7 record in 2019 after losing the 2019 Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl, 38-28, to Louisville.

However, the two-bowl appearance and 14-win résumé left behind in Moorhead's wake simply stands as a testament to the competitive expectations of the SEC that Saban has weathered through his time in Tuscaloosa.

Nick Saban Record at Alabama

Only seven FBS head coaches have held their positions for longer than Saban has with Alabama. Since 2007, the Crimson Tide are an astounding 157-23, and they've won those 157 games by an average margin of 22.2 points per game (PPG).

For reference, Alabama's 157-23 record since Saban took over in 2007 leads the nation in both overall winning percentage (.872) and average margin of victory (22.2 points per game).

The conference's second-longest tenured head coaches are Auburn's Gus Malzahn and Kentucky's Mark Stoops, who took over in Auburn and Lexington in late 2012, respectively. However, unlike Saban's success at Alabama, Malzahn and Stoops have combined for just a 106-75 overall record in their last seven respective seasons.

When Mississippi State makes its next hire, the incumbent coach will be the SEC's fourth new hire of the 2019-20 season and the seventh since 2018. In a conference as tough as the SEC, Saban remains the atypical constant.

Join FanDuel Sportsbook Today. New users get a risk-free bet up to $500. Join Now.