2021 Tokyo Olympics: Men's 800m Gold Medal Odds Favor Nijel Amos Over USA's Clayton Murphy on FanDuel Sportsbook

Herculis EBS Meeting - IAAF Diamond League
Herculis EBS Meeting - IAAF Diamond League / Marco Mantovani/Getty Images

The 2021 Olympic Games continue in Tokyo, and sports fans are wagering on different events at FanDuel Sportsbook. The Summer Olympics are defined by track and field, and the men's 800m event is on Day 2 of the Olympic athletics competition on Saturday, July 31.

Fans who want to watch and wager on the 800m event can tune in on NBC Friday night at 9:50 p.m. ET in the United States. The semi-finals are Sunday night in Tokyo with the finals on Wed., Aug. 4 at 9:00 p.m. in Tokyo (8:00 a.m. ET USA).

Men's 800m Favorites

Clayton Murphy of the USA won an Olympic Bronze medal in the 2016 Rio Games, and he's among four single-digit favorites behind Nijel Amos, who has returned to top form following injuries that kept him out of the 2019 World Championships. The 27-year-old representing Botswana beat a number of his Tokyo Olympic competitors two years ago in the 800m in Monaco when he raced to a world lead of 1:42.91. Amos finished in front of Kenya’s Emmanuel Korir, Canada’s Marco Arop and Kenya’s world bronze medalist Ferguson Rotich.

Here are the FanDuel Sportsbook  track and field betting odds with the leading favorites and contenders to win the gold medal in the men's 800m race. Nine other runners of the half-mile race have odds of +10000.

Men's 800m Gold Medal Odds

1. Nijel Amos (BOT): +180

2. Emmanuel Kipkurui Korir (KEN): +500

3. Ferguson Cheruiyot Rotich (KEN): +650

4. Clayton Murphy (USA): +800

5. Marco Arop (CAN): +1100

6. Patryk Dobyk (POL): +1600

7. Isaiah Jewett (USA): +2300

8. Michael Saruni (KEN): +2300

9. Jesus Tonatiu Lopez (MEX): +2300

10. Ayanleh Souleiman (DJI): +2300

11. Elliot Giles (GRB): +2900

12. Oliver Dustin (GBR): +2900

13. Daniel Roden (GBR): +2900

14. Bryce Hoppel (USA): +2900

15. Brandon McBride (CAN): +3400

16. Adrian Ben (ESP): +5000

17. Amel Tuka (BIH): +5000

18. Pierre-Ambroise Bosse (FRA): +5000

19. Mostafa Smaili (MAR): +6000

20. Wesley Vazquez (PUR): +6000

21. Adam Kszcot (POL): +6000