New Hampshire Motor Speedway Track Info, History and Predictions for 2022 Ambetter 301

Isaiah De Los Santos
New Hampshire Motor Speedway track info, history and predictions for 2022 Ambetter 301.
New Hampshire Motor Speedway track info, history and predictions for 2022 Ambetter 301. / (AP Photo/Charles Krupa, File)

New Hampshire Motor Speedway plays host to NASCAR festivities this weekend as the Ambetter 301 prepares to get underway. The sport's top drivers will tackle this renowned course as they look to gain ground in the standings.

Here's everying you need to know about New Hampshire Motor Speedway before the 2022 Ambetter 301.

Where Is New Hampshire Motor Speedway?

The NASCAR world will descend on New Hampshire this weekend for the Ambetter 301. This race track is located in Loudon, NH on Route 106.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Track Info: Lap Length, Capacity, History

New Hampshire Motor Speedway broke ground in August of 1989 and opened in June 1990. The track was originally part of Bryar Motorsports Park, but it was then purchased and developed into what it is now by businessman and auto-racing fan Bob Bahre. Speedway Motorsports bought the track from Bahre in 2007 and renamed it from New Hampshire International Speedway to New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

NASCAR made its debut at NHMS in July 1990 as part of the then-Busch Series (now Xfinity). The speedway then was promoted to the NASCAR Cup Series in 1993.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway is known for its oval shape, and asphalt/granite surface. The track length is 1.058 miles, making the entire 301-lap race 318.458 miles.

NHMS has a full seated capacity of 76,000.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Past Winners

Rusty Wallace won the inaugural Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in July 1993. Alric Almirola most recently took home the checkered flag on July 18, 2021.

  • 1993: Rusty Wallace
  • 1994: Ricky Rudd
  • 1995: Jeff Gordon
  • 1996: Ernie Irvan
  • 1997: Jeff Burton / Jeff Gordon
  • 1998: Jeff Burton / Jeff Gordon
  • 1999: Jeff Burton / Joe Nemechek
  • 2000: Tony Stewart / Jeff Burton
  • 2001: Dale Jarrett / Roby Gordon
  • 2002: Ward Burton / Ryan Newman
  • 2003: Jimmie Johnson (x2)
  • 2004: Kurt Busch (x2)
  • 2005: Tony Stewart / Ryan Newman
  • 2006: Kyle Busch / Kevin Harvick
  • 2007: Denny Hamlin / Clint Bowyer
  • 2008: Kurt Busch / Greg Biffle
  • 2009: Joey Logano / Mark Martin
  • 2010: Jimmie Johnson / Clint Bowyer
  • 2011: Ryan Newman / Tony Stewart
  • 2012: Kasey Kahne / Denny Hamlin
  • 2013: Brian Vickers / Matt Kenseth
  • 2014: Brad Keselowski / Joey Logano
  • 2015: Kyle Busch / Matt Kenseth
  • 2016: Matt Kenseth / Kevin Harvick
  • 2017: Denny Hamlin / Kyle Busch
  • 2018: Kevin Harvick
  • 2019: Kevin Harvick
  • 2020: Brad Keselowski
  • 2021: Aric Almirola

Most Wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Former NASCAR driver Jeff Burton and current racer Kevin Harvick are tied for the most all-time wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway with four each. Burton won at this track in 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000. Harvick currently boasts wins in 2006, 2016, 2018 and 2019, though he could add to that total on Sunday.

Why Is New Hampshire Race Track Called "the Magic Mile"?

The now-Ambetter 301 was only 300 laps from 1993-2007. Then a change took place in 2008, when an extra lap -- a.k.a. "the Magic Mile" -- was added to honor then-sponsor Lenox Industrial Tools. The 301 name and tradition carried on after Lenox and remains in place to this day.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Predictions

Kevin Harvick's history with New Hampshire Motor Speedway is undeniable. He boasts the fourth-best driving rating, per Motor Racing Network, all-time at this track with a 98.5.

He's also coming into this race driving well, capturing top-12 finishes in four of his last fives outings. That includes a top-3 and top-4 finish, plus two top-10 placements. Though he's failed to capture a checkered flag this season, he's proven he can hang at the top of the leaderboard with four top-4 (or better finishes) in 2022.

I'll take Harvick at +420 to finish top-three in this week's NASCAR odds on FanDuel Sportsbook.

dark. SIGN UP NOW. Up to $1,000 in Free Bets if you don't win your first bet!

Isaiah De Los Santos is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Isaiah De Los Santos also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username zayyy05328. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.