List of Running Backs to Win Super Bowl MVP

By David Hayes
Full list of running backs to win the Super Bowl MVP in NFL history.
Full list of running backs to win the Super Bowl MVP in NFL history. / Focus On Sport/Getty Images

Though the Super Bowl MVP has been dominated by quarterback play, with 30 total winners playing that position, running back is tied with wide receiver for the second-most decorated position in Super Bowl MVP history, with seven each.

Here's a look at every running back ever to win the Super Bowl MVP honor in NFL history, including the year and Super Bowl played.

RBs to Win Super Bowl MVP

1. Larry Csonka (Miami Dolphins)

Super Bowl VIII – 1974

2. Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)

Super Bowl IX – 1975

3. John Riggins (Washington Redskins)

Super Bowl XVII – 1983

4. Marcus Allen (Los Angeles Raiders)

Super Bowl XVIII – 1984

5. Ottis Anderson (New York Giants)

Super Bowl XXV – 1991

6. Emmitt Smith (Dallas Cowboys)

Super Bowl XXVIII – 1998

7. Terrell Davis (Denver Broncos)

Super Bowl XXXVII – 2003

Sign up for FanDuel Sportsbook today and get your first bet risk free for up to $1,000!

David Hayes is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, David Hayes also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username DavidWHayes. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.