3 Greatest Pitchers in Twins History

By michael obermuller
Johan Santana is amongst the three greatest pitchers in Twins franchise history.
Johan Santana is amongst the three greatest pitchers in Twins franchise history. / G. N. Lowrance/Getty Images

Established in 1901, the three-time World Champion Minnesota Twins have had many successful pitchers throughout their history. Honorable mentions would include all-time saves leader Joe Nathan and knuckle ball pitcher Dutch Leonard among others, but these three stand out the most.

3. Firpo Marberry (1923-32, 1936)

Firpo Marberry was a member of the Twins back when the franchise was named the Washington Senators. In a different era, Marberry pitched to the third highest win-loss percentage in franchise history. Splitting time as a starter and reliever, Marberry broke season save records while also accumulating 117 wins. At the time, he was also the first baseball player to amass 100 career saves (94 with the Senators/Twins). Marberry was a World Champion with the Senators in 1924.

2. Johan Santana (2000-07)

Tied for the all-time lead in win-loss percentage for this franchise, Johan Santana is the most dominant Twins starter of the 21st century so far. He is still first in strikeouts per nine innings and fourth in both WHIP and WAR for Twins pitchers. A member of the Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame, Santana won the Cy Young twice with the club, including a Triple Crown in 2006. He was also the AL strikeout leader three times, ERA leader twice, wins leader once, and a gold glove winner once with Minnesota.

1. Walter Johnson (1907-27)

A lifer with the Washington Senators in their early years, Walter Johnson still holds most Twins franchise pitching records. First in all-time ERA (2.17), wins (417), innings pitched, strikeouts, complete games, shutouts (110, MLB record) and WAR (151.9), most of these records are unlikely to ever be broken. Workhorse pitchers like Johnson are distant memories in the modern MLB, but this legend will not soon be forgotten. Johnson pitched one no-hitter. He also won a championship with the franchise in 1924, as well as two AL MVP's, three Triple Crowns, six wins titles, five ERA titles, 12 strikeout titles, and an honor on the MLB All-Century and All-Time Teams.

Get $5 FREE when you sign up for FanDuel Racing, plus we’ll match your first deposit in site credit up to $50!

Michael Obermuller is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Michael Obermuller also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username king_mizzard. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.