SEC West and ACC Atlantic Divisions Continue Historic College Football Playoff Record Streak in 2019 Season

Dabo Swinney celebrates winning the 2019 College Football Playoff National Championship Game.
Dabo Swinney celebrates winning the 2019 College Football Playoff National Championship Game. / Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

While most fans have been focused on the end of one of the College Football Playoff's most impressive streaks in Alabama missing the CFP for the first time in history, the continuation of another has quietly flown under the radar.

With more than 120 FBS programs divided into 10 conferences, nine of which are split into two divisions, the SEC West and ACC Atlantic are the only two conference divisions that have produced a team in every CFP to date.

Neither the SEC West nor ACC Atlantic has sent the same representative each year, as Alabama has accounted for five of the SEC West's perfect six berths, while Clemson has accounted for five of the ACC Atlantic's own six berths.

No. 1 LSU took the torch from the Crimson Tide in this year's playoff as the division's first CFP team not named Alabama, while Florida State's appearance in the inaugural 2015 CFP was the only time Clemson hasn't represented the ACC Atlantic.

The impressive runs by both conferences haven't ended at simply qualifying, either. Representatives of the SEC West and ACC Atlantic have not only won each of the last four CFP National Championships, but they have also accounted for seven of the eight teams that have competed in those last four title matchups.

Alabama (6-3) and Clemson (5-2) combine for an incredible 11-5 record in the CFP among teams from the SEC West and ACC Atlantic ahead of this year's action.

As for this year's 2020 CFP semifinal action on Saturday, Dec. 28, LSU takes on Oklahoma as a heavy 13.5-point favorite, according to FanDuel Sportsbook, in the 2019 Peach Bowl at 4 p.m. EST.

Following that, defending national champion Clemson battles Ohio State as a 2-point favorite in the 2019 Fiesta Bowl at 8 p.m. EST.

Join FanDuel Sportsbook Today. New users get a risk-free bet up to $500. Join Now.

David Hayes is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, David Hayes also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username DavidWHayes. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.