Southern Hills Country Club Location, Weather & History for the 2022 PGA Championship

Southern Hills Country Club location, history and weather.
Southern Hills Country Club location, history and weather. / Michael Madrid-USA TODAY Sports

We have finally arrived at the second major of the golf calendar with the PGA Championship, set to take place at Southern Hills Country Club. This tournament was last played here in 2007 when Tiger Woods came away with the victory.

Southern Hills Country Club Location

The PGA Championship will take place at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, OK. It's set to tee off on Thursday, May, 19.

Southern Hills Country Club Weather

The weather forecast for the PGA Championship is a mixed bag. Friday and Saturday there is an expectation of rain, bookended by sunny and warm days on Thursday and Sunday. Temperatures will be as high as 91 on Thursday, but get as low as 62 on Saturday throughout the four days.

Southern Hills Country Club History

This will be the fifth time Southern Hills Country Club has hosted the PGA Championship and its seventh time hosting a major tournament overall (it has also hosted six amateur events over the years). Southern Hills was originally designed by golf architect legend Perry Maxwell, who has his fingerprints on some of the most famous courses on earth, including both Augusta National and Merion. In 2019, the well-known restoration team of Gil Hanse and Jim Wagner gave Southern Hills an update.

Below are listed winners of the seven major tournaments that have been played at Southern Hills over the years, beginning in 1958 and most recently in 2007.

1. Tiger Woods - 2007 - PGA Championship

2. Retief Goosen - 2001 - U.S. Open

3. Nick Price - 1994 - PGA Championship

4. Raymond Floyd - 1982- PGA Championship

5. Hubert Green - 1977 - U.S. Open

6. Dave Stockton - 1970 - PGA Championship

7. Tommy Bolt - 1958 - U.S. Open

PGA Championship History & Past Winners

While the PGA Championship happens every year, it's played on rotating courses, with 2007 being the last time Southern Hills hosted. Below are the winners of the PGA championship, regardless of course, dating back to 2000.

2021 - Phil Mickelson (Kiawha Island)
2020 - Collin Morikawa (TPC Harding Park)
2019 - Brooks Koepka (Bethpage Black)
2018 - Brooks Koepka (Bellerive)
2017 - Justin Thomas (Quail Hollow)
2016 - Jimmy Walker (Baltusrol)
2015 - Jason Day (Whistling Straits)
2014 - Rory McIlroy (Valhalla)
2013 - Jason Dufner (Oak Hill)
2012 - Rory McIlroy (Kiawha Island)
2011 - Keegan Bradley (Atlanta)
2010 - Martin Kaymer (Whistling Straits)
2009 - Yang Yong-eun (Hazeltine National)
2008 - Padraig Harrington (Oakland Hills)
2007 - Tiger Woods (Southern Hills)
2006 - Tiger Woods (Medinah)
2005 - Phil Mickelson (Baltusrol)
2004 - Vijay Singh (Whistling Straits)
2003 - Shaun Micheel (Oak Hill)
2002 - Rich Beem (Hazeltine National)
2001 - David Toms (Atlanta)
2000 - Tiger Woods (Valhalla)

Who Has the Most PGA Championship Wins?

The record for most career PGA Championship wins is a tie between Jack Nicklaus and Walter Hagen, with five each. Tiger Woods trails that duo as the only golfer with four wins.

dark. SIGN UP NOW. $1,000 risk-free on FanDuel Sportsbook!

David Kaestle is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, David also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username davekaestle. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.