Rugby Sevens World Cup 2022 Schedule, Team, Dates & Location for Men's and Women's Tournaments

Isaiah De Los Santos
Rugby Sevens World Cup 2022 schedule, teams, dates & location for men's and women's tournaments.
Rugby Sevens World Cup 2022 schedule, teams, dates & location for men's and women's tournaments. / (AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez)

Rugby fans are buzzing with excitement as the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens prepares to kick off this week. This men's and women's tournament will take place in a new venue, making this occasion even more special.

Here's everything you need to know about the 2022 Rugby Sevens World Cup.

What is Rugby Sevens?

Rugby Sevens is a tweaked form of traditional Rugby. Teams only field seven players (compared to the usual 15) and play seven-minutes halves (down from the standard 40-minute halves). This format has caught on around the globe, which prompted the development of a championship -- the Rugby Sevens World Cup -- in 1993 for men's teams, and 2009 for women's squads. The sport was even contested at the Summer Olympics in 2016.

Where is the Next Rugby Sevens World Cup?

The 2022 Rugby Sevens World Cup will be held in Cape Town, South Africa. This is the first time this event will be hosted in Africa.

The 2018 iteration of this tournament was held in San Francisco. New Zealand defeated England to win the men's championship for the second straight time after also winning in Moscow in 2013. On the women's side, New Zealand also won in 2018, marking its second straight title as well.

Rugby Sevens World Cup Format

There will be 24 men's teams and 16 women's teams playing in their respective tournaments. Each will compete in an elimination bracket, but every squad will keep playing in a losers bracket in order to get in the minimum of four matches at the World Cup.

Eight men's teams have received automatic byes to the Round of 16. The remaining 16 nations will play in a Pre-Round of 16 matches to determine who will move on in the championship bracket, and who will be placed in the losers bracket instead.

Rugby Sevens World Cup Schedule

This year's Rugby Sevens World Cup will take place from Sept. 9-11 at Cape Town Stadium in South Africa. Below is the schedule for the first day of matches, in order of start time. The action begins at 3:45 a.m. ET, with the last match of the day starting at 2:03 p.m. ET.

Friday 9 September

  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Ireland v Portugal
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Canada v Zimbabwe
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Samoa v Uganda
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Scotland v Jamaica
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Kenya v Tonga
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Wales v Korea
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Hong Kong v Uruguay
  • Men's Pre-Round of 16: Germany v Chile
  • Women's Round of 16: Australia v Madagascar
  • Women's Round of 16: USA v Poland
  • Women's Round of 16: Canada v China
  • Women's Round of 16: Fiji v Japan
  • Women's Round of 16: Ireland v Brazil
  • Women's Round of 16: England v Spain
  • Men's Round of 16: England v Ireland/Portugal
  • Men's Round of 16: France v Canada/Zimbabwe
  • Men's Round of 16: USA v Samoa/Uganda
  • Men's Round of 16: New Zealand v Scotland/Jamaica
  • Men's Round of 16: Argentina v Kenya/Tonga
  • Men's Round of 16: Australia v Hong Kong/Uruguay
  • Women's Round of 16: New Zealand v Colombia
  • Men's Round of 16: Fiji v Wales/Korea
  • Women's Round of 16: France v South Africa
  • Men's Round of 16: South Africa v Germany/Chile

The matchups for Day 2, and subsequently the final day, will be determined once the opening day concludes. Day 2 will feature quarterfinal action for both the championship and losers brackets, while Day 3 is the semifinals and finals.

The men's final will take place on Sunday, Sept. 11 at approximately 3:17 p.m. ET, while the women's championship is set for approximately 3:54 p.m. ET.

You can find the full match schedule here.

What Channel is Rugby Sevens World Cup on?

There are several broadcast partners that will air the Rugby Sevens World Cup. Spark is set to televise the event in New Zealand, ITV is showing the tournament in the United Kingdom, and NBC will broadcast the event in the United States.

The tournament is also providing a live stream in its match center for any countries blacked out on TV. Find your broadcast options here.

dark. SIGN UP NOW. Bet $5+ And Get $150 In Free Bets

Isaiah De Los Santos is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Isaiah De Los Santos also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username zayyy05328. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.