Who Won the Home Run Derby? Results, Winner and Prize for 2022

Isaiah De Los Santos
Who won the home run derby? Results, winner and prize money for 2022.
Who won the home run derby? Results, winner and prize money for 2022. / AP Photos/Patrick Semansky

MLB's All-Star Weekend festivities continue on Monday with the 2022 Home Run Derby. Baseball fans are amped up to watch the sport's best sluggers duke it out for the title and a hefty cash prize.

Here's everything you need to know about the results of the 2022 Home Run Derby, as well as past competitions.

Who Won the Home Run Derby 2022?

Juan Soto won the 2022 MLB Home Run Derby. He defeated Seattle Mariners rookie Julio Rodriguez in the final round by a score of 19-18. Below are the round by round results.

Round 1 (Quarterfinals)
Julio Rodriguez (32) def. Corey Seager (24)

Pete Alonso (20) def. Ronald Acuna Jr. (19)

Juan Soto (18) def. Jose Ramirez (17)

Albert Pujols (20) def. Kyle Schwarber (19)

Round 2 (Semifinals)
Julio Rodriguez (31) def. Pete Alonso (22)

Juan Soto (16) def. Albert Pujols (15)

Juan Soto (19) def. Julio Rodriguez (18)

How Long Is the Home Run Derby?

Tonight's HR Derby is scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. ET from Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, California. The event will air on ESPN and be available to stream on the ESPN app. The TV schedule has this competition lasting two hours, from 8 p.m. ET to 10 p.m. ET, and will be followed by the premiere of the Derek Jeter documentary series "The Captain".

Home Run Derby Prize Money 2022

The winner of the 2022 Home Run Derby is set for a major pay day. Prior to the 2019 season, MLB and the MLB Players Association agreed to raise the prize pool for the derby from $725,000 to a whopping $2.5 million. The overall champion on Monday night will take home $1 million from that prize pool.

2021 Home Run Derby Total Home Runs

New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso captured the tightly contested HR Derby crown in 2021 after beating Trey Mancini 23-22 in the final round. In total, there were 309 home runs hit during the 2021 Home Run Derby.

Home Run Derby Winners by Year

  • 1985: Dave Parker
  • 1986: Wally Joyner and Darryl Strawberry
  • 1987: Andre Dawson
  • 1988: (N/A - rained out)
  • 1989: Eric Davis and Ruben Sierra
  • 1990: Ryne Sandberg
  • 1991: Cal Ripken Jr.
  • 1992: Mark McGwire
  • 1993: Juan Gonzalez
  • 1994: Ken Griffey Jr.
  • 1995: Frank Thomas
  • 1996: Barry Bonds
  • 1997: Tino Martinez
  • 1998: Ken Griffey Jr.
  • 1999: Ken Griffey Jr.
  • 2000: Sammy Sosa
  • 2001: Luis Gonzalez
  • 2002: Jason Giambi
  • 2003: Garret Anderson
  • 2004: Miguel Tejada
  • 2005: Bobby Abreu
  • 2006: Ryan Howard
  • 2007: Vladimir Guerrero
  • 2008: Justin Morneau
  • 2009: Prince Fielder
  • 2010: David Ortiz
  • 2011: Robinson Cano
  • 2012: Prince Fielder
  • 2013: Yoenis Cespedes
  • 2014: Yoenis Cespedes
  • 2015: Todd Frazier
  • 2016: Giancarlo Stanton
  • 2017: Aaron Judge
  • 2018: Bryce Harper
  • 2019: Pete Alonso
  • 2020: (N/A - canceled)
  • 2021: Pete Alonso
  • 2022: Juan Soto

Home Run Derby Matchups 2022

Below are the first-round matchups for this year's Home Run Derby. You can also check out a printable version of the bracket here.

  • No. 1 Kyle Schwarber vs. No. 8 Albert Pujols
  • No. 4 Juan Soto vs. No. 5 Jose Ramirez
  • No. 2 Pete Alonso vs No. 7 Ronald Acuna Jr.
  • No. 3 Kyle Seager vs. No. 7 Julio Rodriguez

dark. SIGN UP NOW. Up to $1,000 in Free Bets if you don't win your first bet!

Isaiah De Los Santos is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Isaiah De Los Santos also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username zayyy05328. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.