Watkins Glen International Track Info, History and Past Winners Ahead of 2022 Go Bowling at The Glen

Watkins Glen International track info, history & past winners ahead of NASCAR's Go Bowling at The Glen this weekend.
Watkins Glen International track info, history & past winners ahead of NASCAR's Go Bowling at The Glen this weekend. / ASSOCIATED PRESS

Watkins Glen International will once again play host to NASCAR festivities this weekend as the Go Bowling at The Glen prepares to get underway. This race is just one of two remaining before the Cup Series Playoffs kick off in September.

Here's everything you need to know about Watkins Glen International before NASCAR's FedGo Bowling at The Glen in 2022.

Where Is Watkins Glen International?

Watkins Glen International is located in Watkins Glen, New York. For fans not familiar with the area, that's about an hour and 30 minutes south of Syracuse, NY.

Watkins Glen International Track Info: Lap Length, Capacity, History

Watkins Glen International originally opened back in 1956 to replace a street course than ran through the town. It went on to be known as the Watkins Glen Grand Prix Race Course from its inception until 1970.

It earned it's first NASCAR event back in 1957.

Watkins Glen International underwent its biggest changes in 1971 with the addition of "The Boot" section to the Long Course. The addition caused racers to follow the hillside and make some interesting turns before rejoining the main track. However, NASCAR has yet to use The Boot in any of its races.

The current construction of Watkins Glen International holds a capacity of 38,900 seats.

Go Bowling at The Glen Past Winners

Kyle Larson won the Go Bowling at The Glen in 2021. This annual August race, held at the Watkins Glen International, has gone through several name sponsors, however, it's existed under its current name since 2018. You can find the past winners of these races below, dating back to 2000.

  • 2000: Steve Park
  • 2001: Jeff Gordon
  • 2002: Tony Stewart
  • 2003: Robby Gordon
  • 2004: Tony Stewart
  • 2005: Tony Stewart
  • 2006: Kevin Harvick
  • 2007: Tony Stewart
  • 2008: Kyle Busch
  • 2009: Tony Stewart
  • 2010: Juan Pablo Montoya
  • 2011: Marcos Ambrose
  • 2012: Marcos Ambrose
  • 2013: Kyle Busch
  • 2014: A. J. Allmendinger
  • 2015: Joey Logano
  • 2016: Denny Hamlin
  • 2017: Martin Truex Jr.
  • 2018: Chase Elliott
  • 2019: Chase Elliott
  • 2020: N/A
  • 2021: Kyle Larson

Most Wins at Watkins Glen International NASCAR

Tony Stewart owns the all-time NASCAR career high with five wins at Watkins Glen International. Jeff Gordon ranks second with four wins, while Mark Martin sits third with three.

Stewart's wins came in 2002, 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2009.

dark. SIGN UP NOW. Up to $1,000 in Free Bets if you don't win your first bet!

Devon Platana is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Devon Platana also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username PepeSilvia0. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.