2022 Australian Open Prize Breakdown Including History and Round-by-Round Winnings for Men & Women

Adam Taylor McKillop
Rafael Nadal is the defending champion at the Australian Open.
Rafael Nadal is the defending champion at the Australian Open. / ASSOCIATED PRESS

It's been four months since the 2022 US Open, but Grand Slam tennis championships have returned to the sports calendar. As is the case every year, the tennis calendar kicks off with the 2023 Australian Open, which will be held at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia from Jan. 16-29.

Australian Open Prize Breakdown

The total value of the purse at the 2023 Australian Open has been set at $76.5 million (AUD), or $53 million (USD). That figure is $2.5 million AUD ($1.7 million USD) higher than the 2022 Championship and sets a new record high for the tournament.

Rafael Nadal won the men's title in 2022 and Ashleigh Barty topped the women's bracket. Both winners walked away with $2.87 million AUD ($2.1 million USD).

How Much Does Winner of the Australian Open Earn?

This year's winner at the Australian Open will walk away with $2.98 million AUD, or $1.99 million USD.

Below is a list of the prize money for advancing to each round of the 2023 Australian Open.

Champion: $2.975 million AUD ($1.998 million USD)
Finalist: $1.625 million AUD ($1.091 million USD)
Semifinals: $925,000 AUD ($621,313 USD)
Quarterfinals: $555,250 AUD ($372,956 USD)
Round 4: $338,250 AUD ($227,199 USD)
Round 3: $227,925 AUD ($153,095 USD)
Round 2: $158,850 AUD ($106,698 USD)
Round 1: $106,250 (AUD) ($71,367 USD)

Australian Open Payout History

Below is a list of Australian Open winners and their payouts for the last 10 tournaments.

1. 2022 - Rafael Nadal and Ashleigh Barty ($2.875 million AUD)

2. 2021 - Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka ($2.75 million AUD)

3. 2020 - Novak Djokovic and Sofia Kenin ($4.12 million AUD)

4. 2019 - Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka ($4.1 million AUD)

5. 2018 - Roger Federer and Caroline Wozniacki ($4.0 million AUD)

6. 2017 - Roger Federer and Serena Williams ($3.7 million AUD)

7. 2016 - Novak Djokovic and Angelique Kerber ($3.4 million AUD)

8. 2015 - Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams ($3.1 million AUD)

9. 2014 - Stan Wawrinka and Li Na ($2.65 million AUD)

10. 2013 - Novak Djokovic and Victoria Azarenka ($2.43 million AUD)

sign up now. Bet $5, Get $150 in Free Bets!. dark

Adam Taylor McKillop is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Adam Taylor also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username atmckillop. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.