NFL Hall of Fame 2023 Class: Finalists and Best First-Year Eligible Players

NFL Hall of Fame 2023 Class: Finalists and Best First-Year Eligible Players


The NFL enjoyed another edition of the annual Hall of Fame festivities over the weekend. This included the first preseason game on the calendar this past Thursday, in which the Las Vegas Raiders topped the Jacksonville Jaguars 27-11.

The festivities continued on Saturday when eight new members were officially inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame as part of the 2022 class.

Watching the celebration, it's easy for fans to look ahead to the NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2023. Here's everything you need to know.

2023 NFL Hall of Fame Class

The 2023 NFL Hall of Fame Class has not yet been announced. The official class is usually revealed during Super Bowl week. The voting is completed by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which consists of one media representative from each NFL's team's city (two from Los Angeles and New York), 17 at-large selectors from the active media or intimate with football, and one representative from Pro Football Writers of America.

2023 NFL Hall of Fame First-Year Eligible Players

Each and every year, the committee votes to elect first-year eligible players into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. To be eligible, a player must be retired or inactive for five years, meaning the 2023 class will include players who hung it up in 2018. Below is a list of the best first-year eligible players.

1. James Harrison, OLB
2. Dwight Freeney, DE
3. Darrelle Revis, CB
4. Joe Thomas, OT
5. Kam Chancellor, S
6. Chris Johnson, RB

2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists

In addition to the first-year eligible players, the Pro Football Hall of Fame officially announced 24 finalists for the Class of 2023 via the Seniors and Coach/Contributor categories.

Senior Finalists

1. Ken Anderson
2. Maxie Baughan
3. Randy Gradishar
4. Chuck Howley
5. Cecil Isbell
6. Joe Klecko
7. Bob Kuechenberg
8. Eddie Meador
9. Tommy Nobis
10. Ken Riley
11. Sterling Sharpe
12. Everson Walls

Coach/Contributor Finalists

1. Roone Arledge
2. Don Coryell
3. Mike Holmgren
4. Frank “Bucko” Kilroy
5. Robert Kraft
6. Art Modell
7. Buddy Parker
8. Dan Reeves
9. Art Rooney Jr.
10. Mike Shanahan
11. Clark Shaughnessy
12. John Wooten

2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductees

Eight former players, coaches and NFL contributors were enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame over the weekend, bringing the total number of members to 362, who will live forever in the prestigious halls of Canton, Ohio.

1. Tony Boselli, LT, Jacksonville Jaguars

2. Cliff Branch, WR, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

3. Leroy Butler, S, Green Bay Packers

4. Art McNally, NFL Official

5. Sam Mills, LB, New Orleans Saints + Carolina Panthers

6. Richard Seymour, DE/DT, New England Patriots + Raiders

7. Dick Vermeil, Coach, Philadelphia Eagles, St. Louis Rams, Kansas City Chiefs

8. Bryant Young, DT/DE, San Francisco 49ers

Adam Taylor McKillop is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Adam Taylor also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username atmckillop. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.