Who Has the Most MLB Home Run Derby Wins Ever? Home Run Derby History

Who has the most MLB Home Run Derby wins ever? MLB Home Run Derby history and records.
Who has the most MLB Home Run Derby wins ever? MLB Home Run Derby history and records. / Matt Dirksen/Colorado Rockies/Getty Images

Pete Alonso put on an absolute show at Coors Field on Monday night, winning his second straight MLB Home Run Derby. It was a historic night for the New York Mets slugger, who became just the fourth player in league history to win the HR Derby multiple times.

Who Has the Most MLB Home Run Derby Wins?

Ken Griffey Jr., holds the record for the most HR Derby wins since the event debut in 1985. Griffey Jr. has won the event three different times.

Most MLB HR Derby Wins

Griffey accomplished the feat three different times during his run as one of baseball's greats in the 1990's. His first title came Three Rivers Stadium in Pittsburgh in 1994. Griffey Jr. then won the event in back-to-back years (1998-99) at Coors Field and Fenway Park in Boston.

MLB Home Run Derby History

After Alonso's impressive performance, now four players have won the MLB Home Run Derby multiple times. Griffey Jr. is the only player to capture the title more than twice.

Ken Griffey Jr.
- 1994: Three Rivers Stadium
- 1998: Coors Field
- 1999: Fenway Park

Pete Alonso
- 2019: Progressive Field
- 2021: Coors Field

Yoenis Cespedes
- 2013: Citi Field
- 2014: Target Field

Prince Fielder
- 2009: Busch Stadium
- 2012: Kauffman Stadium

Most Home Runs in MLB HR Derby

Vladimir Guerrero Jr. owns the most home runs in a single Home Run Derby in league history. Guerrero Jr. smashed 91 total home runs in 2019, when he finished in second-place to Alonso.

- Vladimir Guerrero Jr.: 91 home runs, 2019
- Pete Alonso: 74 home runs, 2021
- Giancarlo Stanton: 61 home runs, 2016
- Joc Pederson: 60 home runs, 2019
- Trey Mancini: 59 home runs, 2021
- Pete Alonso: 57 home runs, 2019
- Kyle Schwarber: 55 home runs, 2018
- Aaron Judge: 47 home runs, 2017
- Juan Soto: 46 home runs, 2021
- Bryce Harper: 45 home runs, 2018

Sign up for FanDuel Sportsbook today and get your first bet risk free for up to $1,000!

Adam Taylor McKillop is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Adam Taylor also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username atmckillop. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.