Has a Rookie Quarterback Ever Played or Won the Super Bowl?

Tyler Maher
San Francisco 49ers QB Brock Purdy has a chance to make the Super Bowl as a rookie.
San Francisco 49ers QB Brock Purdy has a chance to make the Super Bowl as a rookie. / ASSOCIATED PRESS

Young quarterbacks, instead of veterans, have taken the NFL playoffs by storm this year. One of the most notable members of this youth movement is rookie Brock Purdy, who's slated to start the NFC Championship for the San Francisco 49ers.

If Purdy leads his team to victory, it would mark a first in NFL history.

Has a Rookie Quarterback Ever Won a Super Bowl?

No rookie quarterback has ever won a Super Bowl. Furthermore, no first-year QB has even made the Super Bowl before. Purdy has a chance to be the first if he can get the 49ers past the Philadelphia Eagles on Sunday.

This season has been an incredible journey for Purdy, who was barely expected to play after San Francisco took him with the last pick in the 2022 NFL Draft. Dubbed "Mr. Irrelevant," Purdy opened the season as the 49ers' third-string QB behind Trey Lance and Jimmy Garoppolo.

Both got hurt as the season unfolded, however, opening the door for Purdy late in the year. He made his first career NFL start in Week 14 against Brady's Tampa Bay Buccaneers and hasn't looked back, going 7-0 as a starter since taking over for San Francisco.

Now, Purdy and the 49ers find themselves just one win away from the Super Bowl. But first, they'll have to overcome the odds as 2.5-point road underdogs against the Eagles on FanDuel Sportsbook's NFL odds.

NFL Conference Championship Rookie Quarterback History

Even if Purdy falls short this weekend, he's already made history. He's just the fifth rookie quarterback ever to start a conference title game and the first in over a decade. Here's the list of players who have done it:

  • Shaun King, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1999)
  • Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh Steelers (2004)
  • Joe Flacco, Baltimore Ravens, (2008)
  • Mark Sanchez, New York Jets (2009)
  • Brock Purdy, San Francisco 49ers (2022)

As you can see, it's a pretty exclusive group. Most of the greatest quarterbacks in NFL history aren't in it, including Tom Brady, Aaron Rodgers, Peyton Manning and Drew Brees.

Unfortunately for Purdy, all four of his predecessors lost in the Conference Championship Round as rookies. On the plus side, though, three of them (King, Flacco and Roethlisberger) went on to win Super Bowls eventually.

So whatever happens this weekend, the future looks bright for Purdy. And if he wins, well, all bets are off.

sign up now. Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets!. dark

Game odds refresh periodically and are subject to change.