TCU Horned Frogs National Championship History (Wins, Appearances and All-Time Record)

TCU Horned Frogs National Championship History (Wins, Appearances and All-Time Record)


After the best semifinal round in College Football Playoff (CFP) history, the stage is set for a thrilling 2022 National Championship matchup between the No. 1 Georgia Bulldogs and the No. 3 TCU Horned Frogs. Only one team will come out on top and set their mark in college football history.

Here's everything you need to know about TCU's national championship history before making its next appearance.

TCU National Championship History

While TCU already owns a national championship in school history, this will mark their first appearance in a national title game.

Monday's game against Georgia also will be the university's 36th bowl game all-time.

How Many National Championships Has TCU Won?

How exactly does TCU own a national title if they've never played in the national championship game? To explain this, some insight into college football's national championship must be considered.

In 1968, the AP poll began crowning a champion after the bowl games. But, from 1968-1992, the No. 1 and No. 2 teams only met in six bowl games throughout that span. College football understood the need for a chance.

For 1990 and 1991, a consensus National Champion was named before the sport adopted the Bowl Coalition and Bowl Alliance. This system created a national title bowl game from 1992-1998, but neither Big Ten and Pac-10 were involved because of their obligations to the Rose Bowl. In 1999, college football instituted the BCS Championship until 2015 when the CFP was created.

How Many Times Has TCU Played in National Championship?

TCU has never played in the National Championship. Their 2022 matchup against the Georgia Bulldogs marks the first time in school history.

  • CFP National Championship (Jan. 9, 2023): TCU TBD, Georgia TBD

The Horned Frogs won their only previous national title in 1938. TCU finished the season as the AP's No. 1 team after going a perfect 11-0. Head coach Dutch Meyer led the Horned Frogs to a 6-0 mark in Southwest Conference play. Notably, this squad shut out opposing offenses in three different games. They also allowed more than 10 points only once in their 11 wins.

Quarterback Davey O'Brien won the Heisman Trophy during this season. He's the name behind the modern-known Davey O'Brien trophy, which has been awarded to the nation's best college quarterback each year. Current TCU quarterback Max Duggan won the award in 2022.

Adam Taylor McKillop is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Adam Taylor also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username atmckillop. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel. 

Game odds refresh periodically and are subject to change.