Super Bowl MVP Voting Explained and Award History

Super Bowl MVP Voting Explained and Award History


The Super Bowl MVP is one of the most prestigious and discussed awards in the NFL, though the process through which its awarded isn't nearly as well known.

With that in mind, let's lift the veil and explain the Super Bowl MVP voting process, and touch on some of the award's history.

Super Bowl MVP Voting Explained

Super Bowl MVP voting is determined by two factors: fan voting, and media voting.

Starting in 2001, the NFL allowed fans to cast their votes online. Voting begins when the fourth quarter starts, and ends right when the game does. This process accounts for 20 percent of the vote total.

The other 80 percent is determined by 16 media members, who are on site to cover the game.

Super Bowl MVP History

Last 10 Super Bowl MVP Winners
- Julian Edelman, WR, New England Patriots (Super Bowl LIII)
- Nick Foles, QB, Philadelphia Eagles (Super Bowl LII)
- Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots (Super Bowl LI)
- Von Miller, OLB, Denver Broncos (Super Bowl 50)
- Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots (Super Bowl XLIX)
- Malcolm Smith, LB, Seattle Seahawks (Super Bowl XLVIII)
- Joe Flacco, QB, Baltimore Ravens (Super Bowl XLVII)
- Eli Manning, QB, New York Giants (Super Bowl XLVI)
- Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers (Super Bowl XLV)
- Drew Brees, QB, New Orleans Saints (Super Bowl XLIV)

Super Bowl MVP by Position
Notably, seven of the last 10 Super Bowl MVPs have been awarded two quarterbacks. It's become a bit more pronounced recently, but that favoritism toward signal-callers is essentially the way it's always been, as 29 Super Bowl MVPs have gone to quarterbacks – easily the most of any position.

QB: 29

Eagle-eyed readers will notice that there have been 54 Super Bowl MVP awards given out, which is because two Dallas Cowboys' defensive linemen took home the hardware in 1978, Harvey Martin and Randy White.

If you're looking to wager on the Super Bowl MVP, FanDuel Sportsbook has you covered. Be sure to check out The Duel's Super Bowl MVP betting preview as well.

Join FanDuel Sportsbook Today. New users get a risk-free bet up to $500. Join Now.

Max Staley is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Max Staley also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username mstaley1212. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.