Rhys Hoskins Reveals How Phillies Exploited Loophole in Interference Rules
The Philadelphia Phillies' exciting extra inning win over the Washington Nationals on Friday night didn't come without a bit on controversy. Rhys Hoskins was awarded what ended up being the game-winning run for Philly after umpires ruled he was obstructed by shortstop Luis Garcia.
Hoskins stood on second base with the game tied up at 6-6. That was when J.T. Realmuto hit a ball up the middle, just out of Garcia's reach. Garcia attempted to dive for the ball, which impeded Hoskins from running toward third base right away. He was then easily thrown out at home plate.
What looked to be a horrible send by third base coach Dusty Wathan was actually a stroke of genius. The Phillies were awarded the run because the umpiring crew had decided that Hoskins would've scored if the obstruction hadn't taken place. It's a loophole that rarely makes its way into the game.
Wathan also got a ton of praise from manager Rob Thomson following the game. One guy that wasn't happy about the situation was Washington manager Dave Martinez, though. He was ultimately ejected for arguing the call, saying that Hoskins should've had to stay at third base anyways.
Crew chief Dan Iassogna acknowledged to reporters that it was judgment call, but one he thinks was called fairly. The Phillies used it to their advantage and grabbed their 14th win in their last 16 games. Philadelphia now sits just 2.5 games back of the Atlanta Braves for the final NL Wild Card spot.
Larry Rupp is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Larry Rupp also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username phillyfan424. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.