Michigan International Speedway Track Info, History and Past Winners Ahead of 2022 FireKeepers Casino 400

Michigan International Speedway Track Info, History and Past Winners Ahead of 2022 FireKeepers Casino 400


Michigan International Speedway will once again play host to NASCAR festivities this weekend as the FireKeepers Casino 400 prepares to get underway. This race kicks off the final month of the Cup Series regular season as top drivers look to secure their playoff spots down the stretch.

Here's everything you need to know about Michigan International Speedway before NASCAR's FireKeepers Casino 400 in 2022.

Where Is Michigan International Speedway?

Michigan International Speedway is located in Brooklyn, Michigan. For fans not familiar with the area, that's about 1.5 hours west of Detroit and 50 minutes outside of Ann Arbor.

Michigan International Speedway Track Info: Lap Length, Capacity, History

Michigan International Speedway broke ground back in 1967 and opened the following year. The track was originally designed to feature both interior and exterior road courses, 1.9 miles each in length.

NASCAR action began at the track in 1969 when LeeRoy Yarbrough won the initial Motor State 400. The course enjoyed a number of events before the legendary Roger Penske purchased the track back in 1973.

Penske invested heavily to improve the racetrack into what it's known as today - one of the best speedways in the country. The track owner expanded the seating by 100,000 and added numerous buildings to the property.

Michigan International Speedway's NASCAR configuration is a 2-mile moderate-banked and D-shaped raceway. The entire 200-lap race is 400 miles.

Michigan International Speedway Past Winners

Ryan Blaney won the FireKeepers Casino 400 in 2021. This annual August race, held at Michigan International Speedway, has gone through several name sponsors, notably the Pure Michigan 400. You can find the past winners of these races below, dating back to 2000.

  • 2000: Rusty Wallace
  • 2001: Sterling Marlin
  • 2002: Dale Jarrett
  • 2003: Ryan Newman
  • 2004: Greg Biffle
  • 2005: Jeremy Mayfield
  • 2006: Matt Kenseth
  • 2007: Kurt Busch
  • 2008: Carl Edwards
  • 2009: Brian Vickers
  • 2010: Kevin Harvick
  • 2011: Kyle Busch
  • 2012: Greg Biffle
  • 2013: Joey Logano
  • 2014: Jeff Gordon
  • 2015: Matt Kenseth
  • 2016: Joey Logano
  • 2017: Kyle Larson
  • 2018: Clint Bowyer
  • 2019: Joey Logano
  • 2020: Kevin Harvick
  • 2021: Ryan Blaney

Most Wins at Michigan International Speedway NASCAR

David Pearson owns the all-time NASCAR career high with nine wins at Michigan International Speedway. Bill Elliott is the only NASCAR driver to win four straight Cup Series events at the track.

Pearson's wins at MIS came from 1969-1978.

Adam Taylor McKillop is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Adam Taylor also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username atmckillop. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.