List of Defensive Players to Win Super Bowl MVP

List of Defensive Players to Win Super Bowl MVP


Though the Super Bowl MVP has been dominated by quarterback play, with 30 total winners playing that position, there have been 10 total defensive players to win the Super Bowl MVP, with linebackers leading the way at three total.

Here's a look at every defensive player ever to win the Super Bowl MVP honor in NFL history, including the year and Super Bowl played.

Defensive Players to Win Super Bowl MVP

1. Chuck Howley, LB (Dallas Cowboys)

Super Bowl V – 1971

2. Jake Scott, S (Miami Dolphins)

Super Bowl VII – 1973

3. Harvey Martin, DE (Dallas Cowboys)

Super Bowl XII – 1978

4. Randy White, DT (Dallas Cowboys)

Super Bowl XII – 1978

5. Richard Dent, DE (Chicago Bears)

Super Bowl XX – 1986

6. Larry Brown, CB (Dallas Cowboys)

Super Bowl XXX – 1996

7. Ray Lewis, LB (Baltimore Ravens)

Super Bowl XXXV – 2001

8. Dexter Jackson, S (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

Super Bowl XXXVII – 2003

9. Malcolm Smith, LB (Seattle Seahawks)

Super Bowl XLVIII – 2014

10. Von Miller, LB (Denver Broncos)

Super Bowl L (50) – 2016

Sign up for FanDuel Sportsbook today and get your first bet risk free for up to $1,000!

David Hayes is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, David Hayes also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username DavidWHayes. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.