Has Any Country Won Back-to-Back World Cups?

Has Any Country Won Back-to-Back World Cups?


The French Men's National Team is on a mission during the 2022 World Cup. After being crowned champions back in 2018, France is back in the World Cup Finals for a second straight appearance. They square off with an exciting matchup against Argentina on Sunday, Dec. 18 at 10 a.m. ET.

FanDuel Sportsbook's World Cup odds are split on who will win the title. Both Argentina and France currently tout -108 odds on the moneyline with a championship trophy on the line.

How have other defending champions fared at the World Cup?

Full List of Back-to-Back World Cup Winners

France would become just the third team in soccer history to win back-to-back World Cups.

The feat has only been accomplished twice before:
- Italy (1934, 1938)
- Brazil (1958, 1962)

World Cup Winners

Below is a full list of the World Cup Champions dating back to the inaugural tournament in 1930, including how they fared in their attempt to go back-to-back in the following tournament.

1. 1930 Champion: Uruguay

1934 Finish: DNP

2. 1934 Champion: Italy

1938 Finish: Champions

3. 1938 Champion: Italy

1950 Finish: Group Stage Exit

4. 1950 Champion: Uruguay

1954 Finish: Semifinals

5. 1954 Champion: West Germany

1958 Finish: Semifinals

6. 1958 Champion: Brazil

1962 Finish: Champions

7. 1962 Champion: Brazil

1966 Finish: Group Stage Exit

8. 1966 Champion: England

1970 Finish: Quarterfinals

9. 1970 Champion: Brazil

1974 Finish: Group Stage Exit

10. 1974 Champion: West Germany

1978 Finish: Group Stage Exit

11. 1978 Champion: Argentina

1982 Finish: Group Stage Exit

12. 1982 Champion: Italy

1986 Finish: Round of 16

13. 1986 Champion: Argentina

1990 Finish: Runner-up

14. 1990 Champion: West Germany

1994 Finish: Quarterfinals

15. 1994 Champion: Brazil

1998 Finish: Runner-up

16. 1998 Champion: France

2002 Finish: Group Stage Exit

17. 2002 Champion: Brazil

2006 Finish: Quarterfinals

18. 2006 Champion: Italy

2010 Finish: Group Stage Exit

19. 2010 Champion: Spain

2014 Finish: Group Stage Exit

20. 2014 Champion: Germany

2018 Finish: Group Stage Exit

21. 2018 Champion: France

2022 Finish: TBD

22. 2022 Champion: TBD

Adam Taylor McKillop is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Adam Taylor also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username atmckillop. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel. 

Game odds refresh periodically and are subject to change.