Daytona International Speedway Track Info, History and Past Winners Ahead of 2022 Coke Zero Sugar 400

Daytona International Speedway Track Info, History and Past Winners Ahead of 2022 Coke Zero Sugar 400


Daytona International Speedway will once again play host to NASCAR festivities this weekend as the Coke Zero Sugar 400 prepares to get underway. This race is the final one before the Cup Series Playoffs kick off in September.

Here's everything you need to know about Daytona International Speedway before NASCAR's Coke Zero Sugar 400 in 2022.

Where Is Daytona International Speedway?

Daytona International Speedway is located in Daytona Beach, Florida. For fans not familiar with the area, that's about an hour northeast of Orlando.

Daytona International Speedway Track Info: Lap Length, Capacity, History

Daytona International Speedway originally opened back in 1959 and was founded with the help of NASCAR founder William France Sr. It didn't take long for it to become one of the sport's most popular tracks, drawing in an attendance of over 42,000 for the very first Daytona 500 that same year.

Daytona International Speedway underwent its biggest changes between 1984 and 1985. The "International Horseshoe" turn was moved up during that span, while a 400-foot entry leg was also added to the course.

The current construction of Daytona International Speedway holds a capacity of anywhere between 101,500 and 167,785 depending on the configuration of the setup.

Coke Zero Sugar 400 Past Winners

Ryan Blaney won the Coke Zero Sugar 400 in 2021. This annual August race, held at the Daytona International Speedway, has gone through several name sponsors, most notably PepsiCo from 1984 to 2007. You can find the past winners of these races below, dating back to 2000.

  • 2000: Jeff Burton
  • 2001: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  • 2002: Michael Waltrip
  • 2003: Greg Biffle
  • 2004: Jeff Gordon
  • 2005: Tony Stewart
  • 2006: Tony Stewart
  • 2007: Jamie McMurray
  • 2008: Kyle Busch
  • 2009: Tony Stewart
  • 2010: Kevin Harvick
  • 2011: David Ragan
  • 2012: Tony Stewart
  • 2013: Jimmie Johnson
  • 2014: Aric Almirola
  • 2015: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  • 2016: Brad Keselowski
  • 2017: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  • 2018: Erik Jones
  • 2019: Justin Haley
  • 2020: William Byron
  • 2021: Ryan Blaney

Most Wins at Daytona International Speedway NASCAR

Richard Petty owns the all-time NASCAR career high with 10 wins at Daytona International Speedway. Cale Yarborough ranks second with eight wins, while Bobby Allison and Jeff Gordon sit tied for third with six.

Petty's wins came in 1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1981 and 1984.

Devon Platana is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Devon Platana also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username PepeSilvia0. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.