5 Greatest Quarterbacks in NFC North History

5 Greatest Quarterbacks in NFC North History


The NFC North is home to some of the deepest rivalries in football, and that has made the division one of the NFL's most fun over the years.

These teams have often been known for their hard-nosed defense, but that doesn't mean there haven't been some great offensive producers. With that in mind, here are the five best quarterbacks in NFC North history.

5. Bart Starr (1956-1971)

A true legend of the game, Bart Starr won the MVP awards in both Super Bowl I and Super Bowl II, leading the Green Bay Packers as the first dynasty of the Super Bowl era. Starr's individual numbers weren't always especially lofty, though he did lead the NFL in completion percentage five times with the Packers, earning All-Pro honors in 1966.

4. Bobby Layne (1950-58)

The greatest quarterback in Detroit Lions history, Bobby Layne won two NFL championships (making three appearances) in his eight seasons with the Lions. He was a three-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro in Detroit, leading the NFL in passing yards twice.

3. Frank Tarkenton, Minnesota Vikings (1961-1966, 1972-1978)

Fran Tarkenton is the Minnesota Vikings franchise leader in both passing yards (33,098) and touchdowns (239), and also led the Vikes through their most successful era, making it to the Super Bowl three times in four years from 1973 to 1976. Tarkenton also took home NFL MVP honors in 1975.

2. Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers (2005-Present)

Aaron Rodgers may move up on this list by the time his career ends, depending on how the next couple years play out in Green Bay. Rodgers holds the lowest interception rate (1.4 percent) in NFL history, while also throwing for 364 touchdowns and 46,946 yards over his career. He has one Super Bowl ring and has twice been named NFL MVP.

1. Brett Favre, Green Bay Packers (1991-2007)

Who else? Brett Favre ranks No. 4 in NFL history in both passing yards (71,838) and touchdowns (508). All but two of his 20 NFL seasons came in the NFC North (16 with the Packers and two with the Vikes), and that includes an incredible stretch from 1995 to 1997 in which he led the NFL in touchdowns each year, being named a first-team All-Pro three times.

Sign up for FanDuel Sportsbook today and get your first bet risk free for up to $500!

Jason Schandl is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Jason Schandl also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username Jaymun. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.