3 Greatest Quarterbacks in Seahawks History

3 Greatest Quarterbacks in Seahawks History


The Seattle Seahawks history isn't a long one, debuting in the NFL in 1976. They had their fair share of struggles through their first couple decades, but things have really turned around in the 2000's. With three Super Bowl appearances since 2005, they've been one of the league's premier franchises lately.

Their success has often been tied to great quarterback play, so with that in mind, here's a look at the three greatest QBs in Seahawks history.

Best Seattle Seahawks Quarterbacks of All Time

3. Dave Krieg (1980-1991)

The Seahawks existed for seven seasons before Dave Krieg took over at QB, and they put together a combined 39-62 record, never making the playoffs. Then they made the postseason four times from 1983 to 1988, finishing as a top-10 scoring offense four times. Krieg was never a high-volume passer, but he led the NFL in touchdown rate three times (1983, 1987 and 1988) and was a three-time Pro Bowler in Seattle.

2. Matt Hasselbeck (2001-2010)

After the Krieg era came another long run of poor play in Seattle, and they only made the playoffs once between 1989 and 2001 — Matt Hasselbeck's first season as the starter. Hasselbeck led the Seahawks to five consecutive playoff berths from 2003 to 2007, and they even reached the Super Bowl for the first time in 2005. At the time of his retirement, Hasselbeck held the franchise record with 29,434 passing yards.

1. Russell Wilson (2012-2019)

It hasn't taken Russell Wilson long to unseat Hasselbeck for the top spot on this list. In just eight seasons, Wilson already holds the franchise records for passing yards (29,734) and touchdowns (227), while also adding 3,993 yards and 19 touchdowns on the ground. The team has won double-digit games in seven of Wilson's eight seasons, making two Super Bowls and winning the first in franchise history. Still just 31 years old, Wilson looks to have plenty of time left to extend his lead over the rest of the passers in Seahawks history.

Get $5 FREE when you sign up for FanDuel Racing, plus we’ll match your first deposit in site credit up to $50!

Jason Schandl is not a FanDuel employee. In addition to providing DFS gameplay advice, Jason Schandl also participates in DFS contests on FanDuel using his personal account, username Jaymun. While the strategies and player selections recommended in his articles are his personal views, he may deploy different strategies and player selections when entering contests with his personal account. The views expressed in their articles are the author's alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of FanDuel.