Detroit Tigers Entire 2014 Starting Rotation Has Now Won a World Series Title

By Paul Shapiro
Houston Astros v Detroit Tigers
Houston Astros v Detroit Tigers / Mark Cunningham/Getty Images

The Detroit Tigers starting rotation in 2014 was one of the best in baseball. It included Cy Young Award winners Justin Verlander, Rick Porcello, Max Scherzer and David Price along with Anibal Sanchez, the AL ERA lead in 2013.

That rotation was good enough to get the Tigers into the MLB Postseason with an NL Central division title. However, it seemingly wasn't meant to be with Detroit being swept out of the playoffs by the Baltimore Orioles in the American League Division Series.

Now five years later, the team's five starters accomplished what they set out to do all the way back in 2014 – win a World Series title, albeit not in a Tigers uniform.

2014 Detroit Tigers Starting Pitchers

Verlander was the first to accomplish the feat, winning the World Series with the Houston Astros in 2017. Then Porcello and Price did it in 2018 with the Boston Red Sox. And finally, last night, Scherzer and Sanchez added their names to the list when the Nationals won the 2019 World Series in a winner-take-all Game 7, despite being underdogs on the road in Houston.

While it surely comes with a grain of salt for Tigers fans, at least they know that general manager Dave Dombrowski assembled a rotation that could ultimately win a World Series – just with other MLB organizations.

Join FanDuel Sportsbook Today. New users get a risk-free bet up to $500. Join Now.